There are three ways to get money into a gold IRA: a direct annual cash contribution, a rollover from a retirement account you already hold, or a trustee-to-trustee transfer. For 2026 the cash contribution is capped at $7,500, or $8,600 if you are 50 or older, and with gold trading above $4,300 an ounce that buys under two ounces before any dealer premium. Rollovers and transfers carry no annual cap at all, which is why almost everyone funding a gold IRA moves money from an existing 401(k), 403(b), TSP or IRA instead.
The Three Ways to Fund a Gold IRA
The choice is usually made for you by what you already have. If there is an old employer plan or an existing IRA sitting somewhere, a rollover or transfer is the route. If there is not, the annual contribution is the only door, and it opens slowly.
- Direct cash contribution: new money from your bank account, capped annually, requires earned income.
- Rollover: money from a 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), TSP, pension lump sum or another IRA, with no annual cap.
- Trustee-to-trustee transfer: IRA to IRA, institution to institution, no annual cap and no reporting as a distribution.
The last two are frequently described as the same thing. They are not, and the difference has real tax consequences.
Direct Cash Contributions and Why They Are Rarely Enough
The 2026 base IRA contribution limit is $7,500, with an additional $1,100 catch-up for savers age 50 and over, for $8,600 in total. You can confirm both figures in the IRS announcement of the 2026 limits. The cap is combined across every traditional and Roth IRA you hold, not per account, and you need taxable compensation at least equal to what you put in.
Two problems follow. The first is the metal itself. At recent prices $7,500 buys roughly one and a half to two ounces of gold once a dealer premium is added, so a contribution-funded account grows at a pace measured in coins per year rather than in any meaningful allocation.
The second is arithmetic on fees. Gold IRAs carry fixed annual costs, commonly $175 to $285 a year across custodian and storage, and fixed costs are brutal on small balances. On a $7,500 account, $235 a year is roughly 3.1 percent of the balance, every year, before the metal has to do anything. The same $235 on a $100,000 rollover is 0.24 percent. That ratio, not any rule, is the real reason contribution-only gold IRAs are uncommon.
There is also a practical gate. Most dealers set an account minimum well above a single year’s contribution, ranging from around $5,000 at the low end to $50,000 at the high end, so in year one you may not be able to open the account at all on contributions alone. Our guide to the smallest amount needed to open a gold IRA covers where each dealer starts, and the 2026 contribution limits in detail are set out separately.
What this means for you: cash contributions make sense as a top-up to an account funded another way, or for someone with no existing retirement money to move who is willing to build slowly. As the sole funding method for a new gold IRA, they rarely clear the minimum.
Rollovers, the Method Most Investors Use
A rollover moves money that is already inside the retirement system, and it is not counted against the annual contribution cap. Someone can roll $200,000 out of a former employer’s 401(k) into a gold IRA and still make a $7,500 contribution in the same tax year without any conflict.
Within rollovers there is a split that catches people out. In a direct rollover, the plan administrator sends the money straight to your new custodian. Nothing is withheld and nothing is reported as taxable. In an indirect rollover, the plan pays you, and you have 60 days to get the money into the new account. An employer plan is required to withhold 20 percent of the taxable amount on that payment, even when you have told them you intend to roll it over. To roll the full balance you then have to replace that 20 percent from your own savings and reclaim it at tax time. Anything you fail to replace is treated as a distribution, taxable as income and subject to a 10 percent additional tax if you are under 59 and a half. The IRS rollover guidance sets out both paths.
We cover the trap in more depth in direct versus indirect gold IRA rollovers, and if the clock has already run out, self-certification can sometimes save a missed 60-day deadline.
Trustee-to-Trustee Transfer and Why Custodians Prefer It
When the money is already in an IRA, the cleanest route is a trustee-to-trustee transfer. Your current IRA custodian sends the assets directly to the new one. The funds never pass through your hands, the transaction is not reported as a distribution, no 1099-R is issued, and no 60-day clock starts.
There is a further advantage that goes unmentioned in most dealer-published funding guides. IRA-to-IRA rollovers of the 60-day kind are limited to one per rolling twelve months across all your IRAs, and the IRS cannot waive that limit even in cases where it waives the 60-day deadline itself. Trustee-to-trustee transfers are not subject to the limit, so you can do as many as you need in a year.
What this means for you: if the money sits in an IRA, ask for a transfer rather than a rollover, and say the word transfer on the phone. If it sits in an employer plan, ask for a direct rollover payable to the new custodian for your benefit. Both avoid withholding, both avoid the deadline, and the paperwork is no harder.
How Long Funding Takes and What Happens Next
Expect one to two weeks from signed paperwork to cash landing at the new custodian. Employer plans are the usual source of delay, particularly the ones that still cut a paper check and mail it. IRA-to-IRA transfers are typically the quickest.
Cash arriving is not the end of it. You then select the metal, the dealer fills the order, and the metal ships to a depository. The IRS treats collectibles as a prohibited IRA investment, with a carve-out for bullion meeting minimum fineness, which is 99.5 percent for gold and 99.9 percent for silver. Our explainer on what counts as IRA-approved gold lists what qualifies.
Storage is not optional and not flexible. Metal bought inside an IRA has to sit with an IRS-approved depository under the custodian’s control. Taking delivery at home is a distribution, with the tax bill that implies, regardless of how the arrangement is marketed to you.
Choosing a Company Once You Know How You Are Funding
The funding decision narrows the dealer list before you compare anything else, because a dealer’s minimum is measured against what you can actually move. A $40,000 401(k) rules out the companies that start at $50,000 and leaves the ones starting at $5,000 to $25,000. A $7,500 annual contribution rules out nearly all of them in year one.
Work out the number you can move first, then compare on fees within the group that will take you. Our comparison of gold IRA companies by minimum and fees is built around exactly that order, because the reverse order wastes time on companies you are not eligible for.
Common Questions
Can I just contribute cash to a gold IRA instead of rolling over a 401(k)?
Yes, up to $7,500 for 2026, or $8,600 if you are 50 or over. The obstacle is usually the dealer’s account minimum, which typically exceeds one year of contributions, and the fee ratio on a small balance.
What is the difference between a gold IRA rollover and a transfer?
A transfer moves assets directly between two IRA custodians and is not reported as a distribution. A rollover involves a distribution that is then deposited into the new account, either directly by the plan or by you within 60 days. Transfers are simpler and carry fewer ways to go wrong.
How much can I contribute to a gold IRA per year?
The same as any IRA: $7,500 for 2026, plus a $1,100 catch-up at 50 and over. That cap is shared across all your traditional and Roth IRAs combined, and rollovers do not count toward it.
Is a trustee-to-trustee transfer better than a 60-day rollover?
For IRA money, generally yes. It avoids the 60-day deadline, avoids withholding, is not reported on a 1099-R, and is not restricted by the one-rollover-per-twelve-months rule that applies to 60-day IRA rollovers.
How long does it take to fund a gold IRA?
Usually one to two weeks for the funds to arrive, then a further stretch for the metal purchase and delivery to the depository. Employer plans that mail paper checks are the most common cause of a longer wait.
Can I fund a gold IRA from more than one account?
Yes. You can combine a 401(k) rollover, a transfer from an existing IRA and an annual cash contribution in the same account. Keep the contribution portion documented separately, since only that part counts against the annual limit.
This article is educational and is not tax or legal advice. Contribution limits and withholding rules change, so confirm current figures with the IRS or your tax adviser before you act.
